Latest News


May 26 2016.

Over 140 members of public attended Seaford’s Annual Town Forum to see the Mayor’s Awards, Young Mayor’s Awards and presentations from local community groups and charities.

The 2016 Town Forum, hosted by Seaford Town Council, took place at The View at Seaford Head on Tuesday and was abuzz with atmosphere as the event kicked off.

The recently elected Mayor of Seaford, Councillor Lindsay Freeman, welcomed all those in attendance to the event and started the proceedings. Presentations were made by the local groups and charities that had received large financial grants from the Council in the last year. The presentations ranged from verbal updates and participation from the audience to a lively video featuring the spectacular 2015 Seaford Bonfire Night!

On behalf of all those in attendance, the Council offered thanks to those that presented; Citizen’s Advice Bureau, Community Transport for the Lewes Area, Seaford Allotments & Leisure Garden Society, Seaford Bonfire Society, Seaford Community Events Committee, Seaford Musical Theatre & SMT Juniors, St Wilfrid’s Hospice, Waves Seaford Ltd and SeeAbility.

All the presentations were informative sessions and helped raise understanding and awareness of how these vital grants can really change people’s lives and improve the town of Seaford.

During the event presentations were also made to the former Mayor’s and Young Mayor’s chosen charities of the funds raised throughout the past year. Councillor Argent was thrilled to be able to present both CTLA and Seaford Lifeguards with a cheque for £1,033 each and Gabrielle Edwards raised a fantastic £450 for Teddy Treats Children’s Charity.

Also present were those groups and charities in receipt of small grants, who had taken the time to arrange display stands letting people know more about what they do and with literature to give out. Again, the Council thanks those organisations; Cuckmere Community Bus Ltd, Downs 60 + Club, East Blatchington Pond Conservation, Kent, Surrey & Sussex Air Ambulance Fund, Mercread Youth Centre, National Coastwatch Institution (Newhaven), Seaford & Bishopstone Neighbourhood Watch Association, Seaford Museum & Heritage Society and Seaford Silver Band.

Attendees were also able to hear about the Strategic Objectives recently adopted by the Council and how the Council is working towards achieving these, including sustaining and improving the economic wellbeing of the town, its environment and recreational facilities, meeting the needs of the community and practising good governance.

The evening then moved on to the Annual Awards; the former Mayor, Councillor Dave Argent, and former Young Mayor, Gabrielle Edwards, were both thrilled to be able to announce their awards. The Mayor’s Awards went to individuals that have helped support and enrich the town; Zena Gibbs, Tony Delaney, Robert Peedle MBE TD and Keith Blackburn.

The Young Mayor’s Awards went to Hannah Bearns-Lowles (Child of Courage), Aimee Eaton (Young Community Champion), James Searle (Contribution to the Arts) and Joshua and Bethany Philips (Young Carer). Special mention also goes to the others nominees; Dom Avey, Patrick Brackenridge, Lily Harman, Faye Hunter, Liam Jacques, Edward Norman and Ben Woodward.

The Annual Don Mabey award, awarded to individuals for outstanding service to the town, was presented to Seaford’s Town Crier and Sergeant at Mace, Peter White. Alongside his various other voluntary commitments and responsibilities, Peter is probably most recognised for donning his regalia and bell and spreading the news and updates in the streets of Seaford as Town Crier. Seaford is fortunate to have such an active Town Crier and one that is now in his 40th year of Crying, having first been appointed in 1977!

The minutes and photos of the event are available on the Town Council’s website at or updates can always be found on the Council’s Facebook and Twitter pages, search Seaford Town Council and link to it for the latest news.

The Town Council wishes to thank all those that attended the event, gave presentations and took part, and offer its congratulations to those well-deserved award winners!

Pictured Top: Former Mayor, Councillors Dave Argent, presenting cheques to his chosen charities, CTLA and Seaford Lifeguards.

Pictured Bottom: Former Young Mayor, Gabrielle Edwards, presenting a cheque to her chosen charity, Teddy Treats Children’s Charity.