January 26 2016.

Seaford Town Council has commissioned an Honours Board to recognise an elite list of people throughout history who have been awarded the Freedom of the Town of Seaford.

In 2012 Laurie Holland, Ex-Mayor and Ex-Leader of the Council, was awarded the Freedom of the Town along with Don Mabey M.B.E. who sadly passed away in December 2014.

Laurie shares the honour along with William Pitt the Younger and The Duke of Richmond who were both awarded the honour in 1789. Along with Don Mabey, the only other recipient was the 210 Sussex Field Squadron, awarded the Freedom in 1959.

Before parliamentary reform in 1832, Freedom of The town conferred the right to vote in parliamentary boroughs for the MPs. Up until the Municipals Corporations Act 1835 the Freeman were the exclusive electorate for the boroughs they served.

In modern society the award of Honorary Freeman tends to be entirely ceremonial, given by local government to individuals who have served their town in some exceptional capacity.

Pictured above during a the unveiling ceremony of the honours board are, from left to right, Deputy Mayor, Cllr. Rahnuma Hayder, Rodney Boon, Kevin Gordon (Town Historian), Laurie Holland (Past Mayor and Freeman of Seaford), Cllr. Mark Brown (Past Mayor), Cllr. Dave Argent (Mayor) and Seated Mrs Maeve Mabey, widow of Don Mabey M.B.E., past Freeman of Seaford.
About Us
Archive News
© Redcat Marketing Limited.
Privacy Policy