Latest News


November 22 2014.

Seaford Town Council is giving the people of Seaford the opportunity to nominate candidates for the chance to become an Honorary Freeman/Freewoman of Seaford.

The Council wishes to recognise the efforts of exceptional members of the community who demonstrate outstanding commitment to the well-being of Seaford. The requirements for nominees are such things as voluntary work, bravery and going above and beyond expectations for the betterment of the town. Nominees do not have to be residents of Seaford.

The very first Honorary Freedom of the Town was awarded back in 1789 to William Pitt the Younger who served as the youngest ever Prime Minister at the age of 24, he also represented Seaford in parliament. The first Honorary Freedom of the Town awards under Seaford Town Council were decided in May 2012 and were officially conferred on the 30th of September 2012 to Laurie Holland and the late Don Mabey MBE. The Council believes that following the passing of Don Mabey, it would be appropriate to consider giving a new award.

If you would like more information or to view the Freedom of the Town Policy, visit and find it under “The Council – Governance”

Nominations can be made by any member of the public, but they need to be backed by a Town Councillor. If you would like to make a nomination, submit it in writing to the Town Clerk by the 11th of December at the latest. You must detail the reasons for your nomination for this prestigious award.

Nominations can be sent by post or email to: Seaford Town Council, 37 Church Street, Seaford, East Sussex, BN25 1HG or to

Pictured: Freemen Laurie Holland and the late Don Mabey receiving their awards back in 2012, standing with Past Mayor, Councillor Linda Wallraven.