Latest News


May 14 2014.

There was a record turnout this year for the Seahaven Business Awards – now in its 12th year – over 1100 nominations were received from 74 companies across the Seahaven area for the six categories and there was a full house of 100 guests for the President’s Grand Gala Awards Dinner held on May the 9th at Woody’s at Peacehaven Golf Club. The judging panel included M.P. Norman Baker, the outgoing Mayor of Newhaven Julie Carr and the Presidents/Chairmen of the Newhaven, Peacehaven and Seaford Chambers of Commerce. The winners of the six categories were as follows:

Business of the Year – (sponsored by Swindells Chartered Accountants) Ist place: CWJ Landscapes 2nd: Seaford Chiropody and Podiatry 3rd:Fundraising Auctions tied with Badger Inks

Business Person of the Year – Sponsored by Autowise
1st: Simon Studd of Cleancut Gardening Services 2nd: Ian Kerr – Complementary Practitioner 3rd: Alison Campbell of The Co-operative Funeralcare Newhaven

Best Customer Service – Sponsored by The Hope Inn
1st: Dial a Pet Service 2nd: HSBC Bank Newhaven 3rd: The Co-operative Funeralcare Newhaven

Best Retailer of the Year – Sponsored by The Sussex Sign Company 
1st: Badger Inks 2nd: Osborne’s Fish Bar 3rd: Grab N Go

Best Environmental Business Sponsored by HM Bookkeeping
1st: Cleankill Environmental Services 2nd: Age UK East Sussex 3rd: Screen Solutions

President’s Award – Lifetime Achievement Award -  Sponsored by Badger Inks
1st: Peter Crowley (formerly of Wave Leisure) 2nd: Bob Welch – Wasp Printers 3rd: Mike Shorer – Mike Shorer Fine Jewellery

Prior to awarding the Seahaven Business Awards trophies, Phil Merry, Vice Chairman of Peacehaven Chamber presented the annual Chairman's Award trophy to Helen Macaulay for her achievements throughout the year, and Gerri Ori, Chairman of Seaford Chamber awarded the Chairman's trophy to Dave Argent.

The Awards were followed by a grand raffle and the evening was rounded off with an auction of two discounted return airline tickets to Vietnam which had been donated by Mr Le Thanh Dzung, from Vietnam Airlines. The tickets were presented to the winners, Shem and Liz Gardner of The Hope Inn by His Excellency Ambassador Vu Quang Minh, Vietnamese Ambassador for UK and Ireland, Newhaven Chamber’s special guest for the event. First Secretary, Mr Nguyen Van Phong also attended. The tickets raised £602.00 and the raffle raised £275.00. All proceeds from the auction and the raffle were donated to the Hillcrest Community Centre in Newhaven, a registered charity.

Other distinguished guests included Norman Baker MP, the Leader of Lewes District Council Rob Blackman and outgoing Newhaven Mayor Julie Carr.  

The winners line up