Latest News


May 15 2013.

There was a record response for the Newhaven Chamber of Commerce 2013 Seahaven Business Awards, with over 70 nominations received for the six categories and a full house at the President's Grand Gala Awards Dinner held at Woody's Bar and Grill last week.

The judging panel included Norman Baker MP, the outgoing mayor of Newhaven Graham Amy, and Annie Lorys, president of the Newhaven Chamber of Commerce. 

Annie Lorys, president of the Newhaven Chamber of Commerce said: "This has been a fantastic and really fun event. We had a record number of nominations this year. The standard was exceptionally high and the judges had a very tough job when it came to selecting the winners.

"We introduced a new award this year - the President's Lifetime Achievement Award, which was won by the sisters Margaret and Jean Cantell from Studio Tempo. Jean Cantell opened her dance studio in 1953 and this year it celebrates 60 years in the same premises in Newhaven High Street.

"For the first time in the Chamber's history, we had to turn people away for the Awards Dinner because we couldn't fit any more people into Woody's Bar and Grill. Woody's did us proud with its excellent catering and Eastbourne-based magician Kris Singh amazed everyone with his close-up magic.

"On behalf of the Chamber I would like to say a really big thank you to all our sponsors and to all the businesses that participated.

"I am delighted that so many businesses in the Seahaven area really got behind the Awards this year and we look forward to an even bigger and better event in 2014"

The winners of the six categories were:

Business of the Year - Sponsored by Swindells Chartered Accountants.
1st: Wave Leisure (Shakespeare Hall project)
2nd: Badger Inks
3rd:Mike Shorer Fine Jewellery

Business Personality of the Year - Sponsored by the Sussex Sign Company.
1st: Mike Shorer of Mike Shorer Fine Jewellery
2nd: Alan Novis of Prestige Promotional Products
3rd: Peter Crowley of Wave Leisure

Best Customer Service - Sponsored by Wave Leisure.
1st: Autowise
 2nd: Badger Inks
3rd: Payline

Best Retailer of the Year - Sponsored by Mike Shorer Fine Jewellery.
1st: Mike Shorer of Mike Shorer Fine Jewellery
2nd: Dee's Newsagents

Best Environmental Business - Sponsored by Co-op Funeral Care.
1st: Badger Inks
2nd: Tennyson Suite Health & Safety Consultants
3rd: Cleankill Environmental Services

President's Award - Lifetime Achievement Award - Sponsored by Newhaven Enterprise Centre.
1st: Jean & Margaret Cantell from Studio Tempo
2nd: Peter Crowley from Wave Leisure
3rd: Paul Boswell from Meeching Estate Agents