Latest News


May 5 2012.

The Mayor of Seaford's Community Service Awards 2012 were presented at the Town Forum meeting on Tuesday 1 May with over 35 members of the public present.

Following  public questions on the Seaford Town Council Annual Report, which is available from the Seaford Tourist Information Office, the Mayor awarded silver coloured commemorative salvers to the following recipients for their selfless work;

Doreen Davies. Volunteer at Seaford RAFA and St James Trust and community visitor.

Janet White. Volunteer and Treasurer at St James Trust.

Geoff Stonebanks. Owner of Driftwood Garden and fundraiser of thousands of pounds for local and national charities.

Di Moreton. Community volunteer and charity fundraiser.

Lindsay Thomas. Co-founder of the Seaford Exchange Project (community garden).

Adam Briggs. Sussex Events Ltd. Technical light and sound voluntary support for many Seaford charities.

Richard Plowman. Chairman of WAVES Family Support Service.

Peter Bonfield. Chairman of Seaford RAFA and community volunteer.

Reg Dove. President of Rotary Club of Seaford Martello and Treasurer of the Seaford Museum. Volunteer at Chestnut Tree Hospice Shop.

Maddie Jay. Immediate past Young Mayor of Seaford. (Pictured above)

The Mayor noted that although she could only recognise a small number of the people who generously gave their time to improving the community, she wished to thank every one of the volunteers of Seaford that she had met this year, who had left such a lasting memory of their good nature and caring ways.