Latest News


March 31 2012.

Pictured right : The Seaford Young Mayor, Maddie Jay, and her Deputy, Amy Gough, with the winner of the Young Volunteer category, Lydia Smith at the Seaford Young Mayors Awards 2012.

The Seaford Town Council Young Mayors Scheme and the Seaford Young Mayors Awards have won the British Youth Council Innovation Award and Inspiring Project Award as part of its Youth On Board scheme. The scheme celebrates organisations and projects that support youth participation in innovative and exciting ways and marks the achievements that can happen because young people are supported to get involved.

The Inspiring Project Award recognises efforts made by projects to engage young people and give them a voice and the Innovation Award celebrates new ideas and practices that have made a real difference to how organisations work with young people.

Seaford Town Council started the Young Mayor scheme in 2009 with the first Young Mayor of Seaford, Oscar Hardy. Ellie Homan was the second Young Mayor and the current Young Mayor, Maddie Jay, is about to hand over the medal of office to her Deputy, Amy Gough. The scheme encourages young people to become more involved in their town, to understand the issues of local young people and to represent these views to the Council and other groups and organisations. All of the Young Mayors and their Deputies have been involved in local projects, including the skate park, base art work, emergency services awareness, Seaford Youth Forum and most recently helped to secure funding for the 'all ages' green gym equipment currently being installed in the Salts Recreation Park. They held their second annual Awards Evening for young people last week which was sponsored by the Keith Baker Charitable Trust.

The incoming Seaford Young Mayor, Amy Gough, and her newly elected Deputy, Georgia Colyer, will be setting their objectives for 2011/12 shortly and would like to hear from other young people in Seaford with their views and comments. They can be contacted through the Seaford Town Council Facebook or Twitter page, email or telephone 01323 894870.